Steve Larson on Minsky’s model 6 framework

“The six-level model of mind (model six) is detailed in the fifth chapter of The Emotion Machine. At the bottom of the model are instinctive reactions such as reflexes and reactions that we have at birth. Learned reactions are the next level up, and are made up of those reactions that we acquire over time. Deliberative thinking, on the next level, describes forward looking kinds of thought which can test and act out hypothetical plans. Further up, reflective thinking allows us to look back on the results of deliberative thought, recognize patterns, and improve our future deliberations. Further up yet, self-reflective thinking adds a model of self to the actions of the world, and considers that self’s actions from an outside perspective. Finally, self-conscious thinking incorporates the perceived opinions of others into evaluations about what the self should be doing.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s